A Capsule look at the Arnold Mills Road Race Results

From Woonsocket Call, July 3, 1993
by Chris Duffy

Arthur McAndrew, a 25 year old from Swansea, MA wins the inaugural four miler, in 18:02. Cumberland's John Bessette is the runner-up. Twenty seven runners compete.

It's Durfee High grad McAndrew again, in 18:04. Boston's Ken Mueller takes second. The race grows to 30 runners.

David Farley of East Providence runs a 19:29 over a revised 4.5 mile course and noses out Pawtucket's Bobby Doyle for the crown. McAndrew finishes eighth.

Doyle, later to become a noted marathoner, wins it this time, out kicking Cumberland's Rick McLaughlin.

Cumberland's Tom Grundy, a University of Rhode Island student, wins the first of his four titles. His time is 18:15 for the 4.5 miles.

Grundy, later the longtime organizer of the race, wins again, in 18:01 for 4.5 miles. He wins by seven seconds.

Mick O'Shea, one of the legion of Irish runners from Providence College, wins the 4.5 miler. A special award is presented to 9 year old Nancy Krolewski, who was the youngest runner to finish the race. Krolewski goes on to become an all-state runner at Coventry High.

Doyle, by this time a University of Texas-El Paso All-American, wins a 3.8 mile race in 17:54. Cumberland Bob Ratcliffe was second,18:51. Coventry's Sue Krolewski is acknowledged as the first woman finisher. She is 47th, in 23:13.

The course distance is four miles, which was just right for Iowa native Frank Richardson, a student at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Richardson wins in a blazing 16:52. O'Shea took second. Cranston's Anne Sullivan captures the first of her three straight women's titles, four overall.

Cumberland natives finish 1-2 as Grundy (17.38) wins again, followed by Tom Ratcliffe. In rainy weather, 178 runners compete.

Make it four for Grundy, who covers a 3.8 mile layout in 17:23. Tom Ratcliffe and brother Bob finish second and fourth. As the running boom takes hold of America, 478 runners begin the race and 438 cross the line.

Coventry resident Roland Davide wins the first of his titles. His time is 19:31, over four miles, the distance of all subsequent races to date. Cumberland's Sue Ratcliffe cops the women's division, in 24:45.

Foxboro's Wally Collins, the runner-up in '80, wins the four-miler in 19:10, with Cumberland's Ron Gillooly only one second behind. Sullivan beats Sue Ratcliffe by seven seconds to rule the women's division. There are 410 official entries.

Charlie Breagy, another Irishmen from PC, holds off Davide. Breagy finishes in a record 19:05, eight seconds faster than Davide. Ann Hird is top woman.

On the day that the Yankee's Dave Righetti no-hits the Red Sox, Ron Gillooly slices through upper-80's heat and wins in 19:08. New Zealander Christine Huges claims honors in the women's division.

Pete Pfitzinger, training for the Olympics, finishes second to Davide, who establishes a new record of 18:38. Cumberland's Ron and Pat Gillooly take the 3-4 spots.

Another year, another record. Dean Crowe, another New Zealander, wins in 18:30--despite the fact that he was competing in his first road race in two and a half years. Pat Gillooly is second. There are 314 finishers.

The Call headline says it all: "Pat Gillooly Outduels Brother (Ron) for Title". Pat's time is 19:03.

Yet another New Zealander, Rex Wilson, wins at Arnold Mills. Wilson's time of 18:41 is eleven seconds off the course record. Connecticut native Karen Smyers wins the women's division in a record time of 22:06. Some 342 runners compete.

Yet another Irishman from PC, Andy Ronan, beats runner-up Tom Ratcliffe by twenty seconds. Ronan, a world-class marathoner, runs an 18:58. Bob Hall competes as the first ever wheelchair entrant.

New Yorker Matt Centrowitz, 79th the year before because he wasn't training hard, gets himself into race shape and wins, in 19:24. Smyers breaks her own women's record with a 21:35.

The Yoke is on the rest of the field as Holland's Yoke Kleyweg, a friend of the Ratcliffes, wins the women's division in 21:37. Ronan (19:02) makes it an all-foreigners winners' stand.

A pair of Boston residents, Ken Halla and Smyers, take the laurels. Halla wins in 19:26, Smyers in 22:17. Doyle wins his first Masters (Over 40) title. The field is 395, one of the largest in years.

In weather conditions that remind him of his homeland, Ireland's Frank Conway cuts through the cool rain to win (19:11). Smyers clocks a 21:43 for her fifth's women's title.

Billy Myers, of Providence, and Chris Magill, of Cumberland, attend Iona College and train together. Myers crossed the finish line in 19:40, 13 seconds ahead of Magill in a field of 330 finishers. Triathlete Karen Smyers, of Lincoln, MA, was the women's champion for the sixth time, placing 24th overall. Kim Goff of Smithfield was runner-up (in 23:34). Bob Doyle fought off Ed Zarenski of Cumberland to win the Masters title by six seconds.


July 4, 2019

  • Road Race – 9am
  • Parade – 11am

The theme for this year's parade is:
Let Freedom Ring.

For more information about the Arnold Mills Parade, call Joyce A. Hindle Koutsogiane at (401) 333-1381.

Quick Links